Facebook Twitter Instagram Youtube Linkedin TikTok


The Polydor Years

Rainbow - "The Polydor Years"

ALBUM TITLE: The Polydor Years

GENRE: Classic / Heavy Rock

LABEL: Universal

ARTIST: Rainbow


On November 21st, Universal re-releases the back catalogue of RAINBOW on 180 gr vinyl in the Back-To-Black series. Included are the albums “Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow” (1975), “Rising” (1976), “On Stage” (1977), “Long Live Rock’n’Roll” (1978), “Down To Earth” (1979), “Difficult To Cure” (1981), “Straight Between The Eyes” (1982) and “Bent Out Of Shape” (1983). The albums will be released as single LPs as well as a box including all eight releases with a download code for a digital version. As one of the cornerstones of British rock, RAINBOW became a synonym for some of the most popular and well-known rock songs of the 70s and 80s, led by ex Deep Purple member and extraordinaire guitarist Ritchie Blackmore. From the mystical and almost religious “Stargazer“ and “Man On A Silver Mountain“ to the gold anthems “All Night Long“, “Long Live Rock And Roll“ and “Since You Been Gone“ every year in RAINBOW’s decade was shaped by some of the best songs and performances that have ever been put on a record and on stage. Several of the best actors the genre had to offer back then were involved in the band. The singers Ronnie James Dio, Joe Lynn Turner and Graham Bonnet, bassist and producer Roger Glover and drummers Cozy Powell and Bobby Rondinelli – everyone contributed their own individual talent to record some of the classic and most popular albums and singles.



Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow

Side One:
01. "Man On The Silver Mountain"
02. "Self Portrait"
03. "Black Sheep Of The Family"
04. "Catch The Rainbow"

Side Two:
01. "Snake Charmer"
02. "The Temple Of The King"
03. "If You Don't Like Rock 'n' Roll"
04. "Sixteenth Century Greensleeves"
05. "Still I'm Sad"


Side One:
01. "Tarot Woman"
02. "Run With The Wolf"
03. "Starstruck"
04. "Do You Close Your Eyes"

Side Two:
01. "Stargazer"
02. "A Light In The Black"

On Stage

Side One:
01. "Kill The King"
02. "Medley: Man On The Silver Mountain/Blues/Starstruck"

Side Two:
01. "Catch The Rainbow"

Side Three:
01. "Mistreated"

Side Four:
01. "Sixteenth Century Greensleeves"
02. "Still I'm Sad"

Long Live Rock 'n' Roll

Side One:
01. "Long Live Rock 'n' Roll"
02. "Lady Of The Lake"
03. "LA Connection"
04. "Gates Of Babylon"

Side Two:
01. "Kill The King"
02. "The Shed (subtle) "
03. "Sensitive To Light"
04. "Rainbow Eyes"

Down To Earth

Side One:
01. "All Night Long"
02. "Eyes Of The World"
03. "No Time To Lose"
04. "Makin' Love"

Side Two:
01. "Since You Been Gone"
02. "Love's No Friend"
03. "Danger Zone"
04. "Lost In Hollywood"

Difficult To Cure

Side One:
01. "I Surrender"
02. "Spotlight Kid"
03. "No Release"
04. "Magic"
05. "Vielleicht Das Nächster Zeit (Maybe Next Time) "

Side Two:
01. "Can't Happen Here"
02. "Freedom Fighter"
03. "Midtown Tunnel Vision"
04. "Difficult To Cure"

Straight Between The Eyes

Side One:
01. "Death Alley Driver"
02. "Stone Cold"
03. "Bring On The Night (Dream Chaser) "
04. "Tite Squeeze"
05. "Tearin' Out My Heart"

Side Two:
01. "Power"
02. "Miss Mistreated"
03. "Rock Fever"
04. "Eyes Of Fire"

Bent Out Of Shape

Side One:
01. "Stranded"
02. "Can't Let You Go"
03. "Fool For The Night"
04. "Fire Dance"
05. "Anybody There"

Side Two:
01. "Desperate Heart"
02. "Street Of Dreams"
03. "Drinking With The Devil"
04. "Snowman"
05. "Make Your Move"