Facebook Twitter Instagram Youtube Linkedin TikTok



Hei‘An - "imago"


GENRE: Post Progressive Metal

FORMAT: CD, Digital




COUNTRY: Slovenia


Matic Blagonič – Vocals, Guitar

Matevž Počič – Guitar

Peter Smrdel – Bass

Gaj Bostič – Drums 

Post Progressive Metal

Originally a one-man project by Slovenian musician Matic Blagonič, Hei’An has now evolved into a veritable collective of keen artists striving to bring Slovenian metal into our heads and hearts – successfully so! The band, who likes to think of their output as Post-Progressive-Metal, impressively manages to balance out both heavy sounds and tender emotions blossoming across a field of arcane post-metal-esque landscapes. Through the inspiration of names such as Alcest, Leprous or Together To The Stars, especially listeners of dreamy and deep metal songs will highly appreciate the upcoming album imago.

The concept album, which is set to be released on November 25th 2022, depicts a journey through a man’s inner hell and the challenge of overcoming inner demons and trauma. Touching on vile, yet sadly all too common topics such as toxic relationships, depression, loss or addiction, imago directs the listener through multiple circles of torment and tribulations – on the road to reemerging with a positive, reflected pattern.

The title imago – which is the name of the final track as well – comes from the last phase of development of growth for insects. While caterpillars are going through their imago stage, they become butterflies, free creatures with unique colors and a past. Summing up the album’s essence, Blagonič says: “It’s a metaphor for going through a bunch of hardships, yet in the end, spreading your wings as a beautiful butterfly, and moving forward better, stronger, more connected with yourself and more beautiful, especially on the inside. That’s why there is a butterfly on our album cover. But as you will notice, the butterfly still has slightly burnt and damaged wings – that is because when going through hardships, you can never just “forget” or “erase” what you’ve gone through, trauma will always stay with you, forever. But if you accept it, understand it (and yourself) and learn from it, you can still blossom into a beautiful butterfly, full of love and full of life.”

The musical journey of Hei’An may have just begun – but with their highly lyrical, artistic approach toward heavy music, they are set to have a bright future in post-modern metal.


"imago" can now be pre-ordered here: https://orcd.co/heian_imago




1 semita tenebrarum

2  inferno feat. Oəlka (Malorshiga)

3 embers

4 can't get out of my skin

5 escape

6 dreamer feat. Joe Buras (Born Of Osiris)

7 in the cold

8 time to go feat. Matic Štemberger

9 shut my eyes

10 at the break of dawn

11 noises

12 imago

13 ko te ni 

14 preteklost feat. Gregor Strasbergar - Štras (Mrfy)

15 ne iščem več besed