Facebook Twitter Instagram Youtube Linkedin TikTok


Bad Blood Rising

Santa Cruz - "Bad Blood Rising"

ALBUM TITLE: Bad Blood Rising

GENRE: Hard Rock


LABEL: M-Theory Audio


ARTIST: Santa Cruz

COUNTRY: Finland

Praised by Rolling Stone for their “debaucherous, flamboyant flair,” Santa Cruz is a Finnish modern hard rock band formed with the mutual aspiration of playing their rear ends off and kicking people’s derrieres.

Inspired by the likes of Mötley Crüe and Guns N’ Roses, the group developed a strong buzz in Scandinavia through high-energy live shows and a well-received EP. Eventually, the group signed with Spinefarm Records to release their 2013 full-length debut, “Screaming For Adrenaline”.

The album was released to rave reviews and cracked the Finnish Top 40. It saw the sound of Santa Cruz truly take flight, assaulting the ears with an explosion of pure adrenaline and attitude in the form of honest rock n' roll and virtuoso musicianship. That same year, the band signed an international booking deal with TKO Agency (Motörhead, Anthrax) and subsequently played their first three British tours. In addition to complete conquest of Finnish stages big and small, Santa Cruz also paid their first visits to Germany and Belgium supporting their heroes Skid Row.

In between all the touring, Santa Cruz somehow also found a way to squeeze in the recording of their eponymous second album, which debuted at #3 on the Finnish charts upon its release in 2015. Featuring “We Are the Ones To Fall” – the most aired song of the year on the Finnish nationwide station Radio Rock – and the anthemic “Wasted and Wounded”, the album further distanced the band from the throwback glam-metal sound, as they mixed their influence of the '80s and early '90s hard rock sound with elements of modern rock and metal and put it in their own special blender, then iced the mix with blinding energy, a stupefying stage show and a healthy dash of bad attitude!

After additional extensive touring around the world (including three jaunts to America, where they toured with Amaranthe, I Prevail and Sebastian Bach in addition to performing before thousands at the Rock On The Range festival in 2015), the group now returns with their raucous third LP “Bad Blood Rising”. The album features the memorable lead single “River Phoenix”, as well as the powerful and catchy “Young Blood Rising” and “Voice Of A New Generation”, a track produced by Dave Fortman (Evanescence, Slipknot, Godsmack).

The band already released the record’s infectious first single, “River Phoenix”, earlier this summer, but Friday Sept 15th brings the next digital single release with “Young Blood Rising”; a promo video will follow soon in the coming weeks. Both tracks come from the group’s forthcoming slab "Bad Blood Rising", to be released Nov. 10th on CD, limited-edition colored vinyl and via digital outlets. Pre-order now at www.m-theoryaudio.com/store. The band has a European tour set for Nov – Dec, with plans to return to the States in the new year.

This album has probably both the heaviest and the softest Santa Cruz moments on it. We didn't intentionally try to come up with something totally different than before, but I guess some of the new influences we've picked up along the way can be heard on these songs”, states guitarist Johnny. "At the end of the day the apple didn't fall all that far from the tree. People can still expect the Santa Cruz sound -- the fast guitars and heavy drums are still there, just served with a different sauce. All in all, we see "Bad Blood Rising" as a 'comeback album'. A start of a new era. It's like what Archie is singing in ‘River Phoenix’ - 'We're going down like River Phoenix, to rise up from the ashes once again'.



For more information:




1. Young Blood Rising
2. River Phoenix
3. Fire Running Through Our Veins
4. Drag Me Out Of The Darkness
5. Breathe
6. Voice Of The New Generation
7. Back From The Dead
8. Bad Habits Die Hard
9. Pure Fucking Adrenaline
10. Get Me Out Of California
11. River Phoenix (Part 2)