Jul 13th, 2010

IRON MAIDEN are delighted to announce the premiere on of the “Director’s Cut” video for the title track from their new album, ‘THE FINAL FRONTIER ’.  The album is due for release on August 16th and the video is an edit of the opening song on the album, entitled ‘Satellite 15… The Final Frontier’.

The video, which can be viewed now at, was produced by award-winning production company Darkside Animation Films.  Darkside’s creative team includes animators who’ve created effects for feature films including ‘Lost in Space’, ‘Gladiator’ and ‘Black Hawk Down’. The script was written by the director of BBC Radio’s ‘Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy’, and the live action was co-ordinated and directed by Nick Scott Studios.

As well as working round the clock to turn out over three months of animation in eight weeks flat, the Darkside team developed entirely new technology to bring to life as never before Iron Maiden’s mascot, EDDIE, in his new alien incarnation. A total of 141 shots combined live action with integrated CGI as well as full 3D animation, resulting in a complete running time of five minutes – that’s over seven thousand frames, taking up to half an hour to render each frame!

Intriguingly, some of the integral footage was shot at Rendlesham Forest in Southern England, which is associated with The Rendlesham Forest Incident due to a series of reported sightings of unexplained lights and alleged landing of a craft of unknown origin.

The album ‘The Final Frontier’ which features 10 tracks listed below, including ‘El Dorado’ (which was released as a free download to great worldwide excitement in June) runs for over 76 minutes.


Confirmed for release on EMI on 16th August, the album will be released in a unique Limited Edition Collectors ‘Mission Edition’ CD case and will include access to extra bonus content including the Director’s Cut of this new video,  filmed band ‘Mission Debrief’ interview footage, wallpapers, photos and the exclusive game ‘Mission II : Rescue & Revenge’. Maiden are also for the first time making the album available as an iTunes LP with bonus content as well as the traditional digital format.  There will also be a Limited Edition Double Picture Disc.

The full tracklisting for the album (total running time 76:35) is:
1. Satellite 15…..The Final Frontier   8:40
2. El Dorado   6:49
3. Mother Of Mercy   5:20
4. Coming Home   5:52
5. The Alchemist   4:29
6. Isle Of Avalon   9:06
7. Starblind   7:48
8. The Talisman    9:03
9. The Man Who Would Be King  8:28
10. When The Wild Wind Blows    10:59

The band are currently touring North America playing sell out arenas and Amphitheatres and receiving tremendous reactions from fans and media alike. After these 25 shows “The Final Frontier World Tour’ then travels back across the Atlantic for a series of headline festival and stadium appearances around Europe. The remaining dates are as follows:

Wed 14th        Pittsburgh, PA          First Niagara Pavilion
Thur 15th        Cleveland, OH          Blossom Music Center
Sat 17th          Detroit, MI                  DTE Energy Music Theatre
Sun 18th         Chicago, IL                First Midwest Bank Amphitheatre
Tue 20th         Washington D.C.     Jiffy Lube Live
Fri 30th           Ireland                        Dublin, The O2

Aug 1st           UK                               Knebworth Sonisphere Festival
Thur 5th          Germany                    Wacken Festival
Sat  7th            Sweden                     Stockholm Stora Skuggan Sonisphere Festival
Sun 8th           Finland                       Pori’s Kirjurinluoto Sonisphere Festival
Wed 11th        Norway                      Bergen Bergenhus Festning – Koengen
Sat 14th          Hungary                     Sziget Festival
Sun 15th         Transylvania             Cluj Napoca – Polus Center Mall
Tue 17th         Italy                             Villa Manin, Udine
Thur 19th        Belgium                    Pukkelpop Festival
Sat 21st          Spain                         Valencia Auditorio Marina Sur